News Ticker

Californians legalize marijuana

by Arman Nikfar, staff writer

Well the election is now over: we have our new president, and yes, the recreational use of marijuana is now legal in the state of California! It passed with a 56.24 percent yes vote and 43.76 percent voting no. Just to be clear, adults aged 21 and over are the only people who can legally possess marijuana. It is still illegal to smoke and drive. If you are 21 and over you are legally allowed to have or carry 28.5 grams of weed.

Selling marijuana without a license is still illegal, and in order for a business to sell for recreational use, they must apply to acquire a state license. Even if you have a business license you are not allowed to sell within 600 feet of any type of school, whether it be a college, high school, middle school, elementary school, or day care. Legalizing the use of recreational marijuana has created a 15 percent tax on every single marijuana sale whether it be one gram or 100.

So you may be wondering, what do these things have to do if you’re under the age of 21? What are the consequences of possession or sale of marijuana, are there any consequences? Well, yes there are some significant consequences when it comes to sale (not possession) under the age of 21. If you are under the age of 21 and are somehow convicted of use or possession, you are required by law to attend a drug education class or counseling program and you have to participate in community service.

When you think about it, the consequences might not be that extreme with possession or use. But if you are under the age of 21 and convicted of selling marijuana without a license, you can be punished with up to six months in a county jail and up to a $500 fine, sometimes both. Be sure to take note of the new laws before you take any actions.